If You Never Start, You Never Finish

Today I was walking down the shady tunnel between Kaneff and Davis, when I heard footsteps behind me. Knowing that there was someone behind me, I held the door open for him, and he was so grateful.  The man behind me was an elderly janitor, who had just finished work for the day at UTM.  He seemed friendly and we struck up a conversation immediately.  At one point, he asked me if I was in first year and how I was liking it so far.  I told him it was pretty good, just a lot of work.  He agreed and said it did seem like a lot of work.  Then he uttered these golden words that really stuck with me.  He said: “But if you never start, you never finish”.

I realize how obvious that statement is, but sometimes the most obvious words are the most encouraging. And that’s why I’m sharing these obvious words with you today— so you can adopt this as your “first year mantra” to help you get through the stressful times (including final exams which are quickly approaching!).
So when you put off studying for your econ exam, remember, “If you never start, you never finish” and hopefully you’ll be motivated to crack open your textbooks and start studying because the sooner you start studying, the sooner you finish, and if you never start, you never finish.
Shoutout to the mysterious janitor who shared these words of wisdom with me! Hopefully you all find them as inspiring as I did!
Leave a Reply

