Out With the Old, In With the New

Last Friday, my high school had its commencement, which is basically graduation in November.  The idea is to have a reunion, rather than a goodbye.  It was great seeing everyone, but one thing that really surprised me was the feeling I had walking back into my high school.

As I walked through the hallways that I spent 4 years in, the same hallways where I chatted with friends on the way to class, and ran through in the morning, trying to make it in on time, I couldn’t believe how foreign it felt.  It didn’t feel like it was a home to me for the past 4 years, and I couldn’t understand why.

When I walked through those halls again for the first time in months, I expected to experience a sense of security and comfort, or familiarity and relief — a feeling of finally coming home after a looong vacation.  But I didn’t experience that, and I can only think  of one reason why.

I have a new “home” now.  A new place of familiarity and security.  Although I’ve spent 4 years in high school, it already seems like I’ve spent an eternity at UTM.  The atmosphere of UTM is so welcoming and warm, that it’s easy to adopt it as a new home.

After talking to friends at commencement who are  attending other universities and claim they still feel like outsiders, still trying to adapt to the new environment around them, I realize how lucky we are to go to a school that is so easy to love and become comfortable with.

Don’t ever take that for granted!

Leave a Reply

