There’s No Place Like Home

“You don’t get the REAL university-experience unless you live on res!”

I know I’m not the only one who’s heard this over and over again. So, I’m going to speak for the thousands of commuters out there, who, like myself, have learned that this is 100% NOT TRUE. Since when is being forced to do your own laundry, cook your own food, and clean up after yourself the only way to have fun? There are so many reasons why living at home and attending university is a bonus, rather than a burden, but I’ll break it down into the 3 Fs for you guys.

#1: Food: I’d like to share some of the amazing home-cooked meals I’ve had this past week:

tumblr_mgoabbaeRb1rows2xo1_1280  photo

Whereas if I were living on my own, my meals would look something like this:

homer  whattoeat_lunch_kraftmacncheese cooking-fails8  cooking-fails6

Home-cooked meals is the way to go!

#2: Family: My family are my best friends, so I can’t even imagine going from seeing them everyday, to once every few months. Also, while your roommate(s) can hate on you all they want, with your family as your roommates, they’re morally obligated to like you!

#3: Finances: Lastly, and second most importantly (the food issue is of course #1) you’re saving tons of money on food and housing. There’s absolutely no downside when it comes to having more money in your bank account!

And if I’m not convincing enough, how about hearing five more students’ opinions about living at home?

“Living at home is the best of both worlds; I get to stay involved with school events and go back home at the end of the day to my own quiet space.”- Antoinette D.

“Good food all the time”- Salman K.

“Why leave when you have everyone and everything right here?”- Mai H.

“You still feel the freedom and excitement anyone normally gets from being in university, but there’s still a sense of security that helps you from being overwhelmed. Plus you get a live-in cook and maid (love you mom).”- Hazel N.

“Living at home is comfortable”- Michael E.

So commuters, don’t ever let res kids tell you that you’re “not really getting the TRUE experience”, because as we’ve established, that’s just not true. Sure, living on res has its perks, but living at home ain’t so bad either! Living at home definitely does NOT take away from the university experience, because I honestly spend most of my time at UTM and I don’t feel like I’m missing the experience at all- I’ve still made friends and everything, I’m just saving money while doing it. The only difference between their university experience and yours is that you’ll come out of there with money still in your pockets, while theirs will be completely drained.

Leave a Reply

