Give It a Chance!

Are eyebrows considered facial hair?  What language do deaf people think in?  Why didn’t Tarzan have a beard? When you’re sitting in a 2 hour lecture, bored out of your mind, these are the insane questions that pop up, as I’m sure many of you have experienced.

I went into my first philosophy lecture already about to fall asleep.  I had already decided that I hated the subject, and it just wasn’t of any interest to me.  Every minute that went by was torture, as I sat in that cramped chair and watched slide, after slide, after slide of stuff I didn’t want to pay any attention to.

I remember coming out of that first lecture in a horrible mood, meeting up with my friends and complaining about how dull my last two hours had been.  I also swore to them that I would be dropping the course as soon as I got home, because “it was soooo boring!”.

Being the procrastinator I am, I actually forgot to drop the course, and ended up attending my second lecture on the next day.  This time, I decided to try to pay attention.  I figured if I was going to drop the course, I might as well make the most of my last day and take in as much information as possible.  I was surprised to find that I got through the first few slides quite easily.  In fact, I found them really interesting!  The rest of the lecture flew by as I learned so many new concepts and theories.

I went in to the first lecture with my mind already made up – I didn’t like philosophy, therefore I would hate this course.  My negative outlook made my whole experience negative.  On the second day, when I came in with an open mind, I was able to learn so much in a field that I once had no interest in.

The moral of the story here is: just give it a chance!  Although something may be completely foreign to you, you have nothing to lose by giving it a try.  Don’t be too quick to drop a course, because you may end up loving it!

Also, if you guys have any answers to my random questions that I think about in class, or want to share some of your own crazy in-class thoughts, please comment below!

One thought on “Give It a Chance!

Leave a Reply

